07-29-2010 4th Summer Assignment:Getting to Know Your Teaching Assistant, Google Docs, Summer Homework

Notes From Your T.A.

I know that some of you may have seen me on campus and I thought that you may want to get to know me before the first day of school. My name is Shea Chidester. I am a 4th Year Senior at Florida Atlantic University majoring in History, Political Science and Interdisciplinary Studies for Social Studies, which is fancy speak for a little bit of everything social studies. When I graduate I will have two different degrees which is why I will not be graduating this coming Spring term. I am a taking all my classes at the Jupiter campus, but I have been a student at the main campus in Boca Raton for the past three years. I worked with Mr. Falvo last year here at Dwyer. I also graduated from Dwyer in 2007. Go Panthers! I did go here all four years, and had many of the same teachers. I had Mr. Falvo for Honors World History when I was a sophomore and Liebman for AP US History as a junior, so I have take an AP test before. I know the pressure you are under to do your best.

I was a major drama geek while I was still  here and I was responsible for putting together the Spring play when I was a senior, and it was a wonderful learning experience for me. I truly believe that learning the history of the world should be  a vital part of a person’s education. Without it, we can’t fully understand the present or prevent mistakes from occurring in the future. I know that some of you don’t like history or think that it is useless but I believe that nothing could be further from the truth. At some point, everything matters.

For the record, I am usually the one who responds to your emails, but nothing I do is ever without the consent or knowledge of Mr. Falvo. Mr. Falvo supports my decision because they are always made with him.

Emails and Introduction To Google Docs

Some of you have already sent emails with your name, parents names, phone numbers, last social studies class taken, and the type of computer you will be using. These are not optional. If you have friends who you know are taking this class, please tell them to send an email to APWorldHistory2009@gmail.com The emails you send in help Mr. Falvo and I get to know you and set up a line of communication. We use something called “Google Documents” or “Google Docs” for large amounts of work throughout the year. We use it to post various hand outs and tests and check your homework assignments. We also send out lecutre notes, power points and other tools to help you be sucessful in our class.

This weeks assignment is to set up an account with Google Docs, and experiment with it. There is a video tutorial set up my Google that is extremely helpful. There are also many videos on YouTube that you can use. We will be using Google Docs almost everyday. [Links for good  YouTube videos will be posted soon]

Summer Homework

Please make sure that you are keeping up with your Guns, Germs, and Steel questions. Also, please make sure that you buy The Princeton Review’s Cracking the AP World History Exam book. The 2011 Edition will be available starting August 3, which is this coming Tuesday. The 2010 Edition will be just fine in case, like me, you have already bought it. There will be another posting this Tuesday.

-Shea

About whapfalvo

Teach AP History teacher at William T. Dwyer High School...AP World History, AP US History, and AP European History.
This entry was posted in AP Summer Homework, AP World Reminders, Google Docs, Notes from your TA. Bookmark the permalink.